Loddon Valley Rides
Cycle through the pockets and valleys crossing some of the world’s richest alluvial goldfields, discovering untouched villages, forests that open to vast spaces and tree lined rivers and lakes. The country’s first Trailrider (all terrain wheelchair) is available free of charge from the Loddon Visitor Information Centre for use in the Loddon Valley and allows visitors with limited mobility to explore this beautiful environment.
The Bullabul track from Inglewood to Bridgewater follows quiet country roads, railway service tracks and well-worn paths through attractive bushland.
The distance of the trail is approximately 13 km one way so if you have not arranged to be picked up at the other end you will need to be prepared to complete over 26 km. A mountain bike is the ideal way to enjoy this trail.
The track starts at the town hall in Inglewood, winds through the historic Morning Star Mine and ends in the pleasant surrounds of the Loddon river at Bridgewater. Mid way is a picturesque old timber bridge over the Bullabul Creek. The Bullabul rises in foothills north of Dunolly and joins the Loddon River downstream of the basalt bar at Bridgewater. Both Bridgewater and Inglewood are attractive towns with rich histories, interesting architecture and a warm country feel about them.
The Reservoir Track winds around the grounds of the caravan park before circling the reservoir and returning across the dam wall.
Gold mining operations required a reliable supply of water and the reservoir would have provided security of supply in the busy gold mining period of the late 1800’s. In low rainfall areas catch drain reservoirs such as this one maximize ﬂows into the dam. It was upgraded in the 1880’s to provide fresh water for the town but today is used to water recreation facilities. Supply is augmented via a channel from Skinner’s Flat Reservoir north of town.
Boort is known as the oasis of the north owing to the numerous lakes and waterways, the lush gardens of the township and the expansive irrigated agricultural land surrounding the town. The area’s first station established in 1843 by Henry Godfrey was named ‘Boort’ and reputedly means ‘smoke from the hill’ in the local Dja Dja Wurrung dialect and referred to their means of communication from nearby Bald Hill. The town developed in the 1870’s and was originally located on the southern shore of Little Lake Boort and was moved to the north in 1883 when the railway arrived. The little lake, annexed from the larger Lake Boort in the early 1920’s, provides opportunities for water-skiing, sailing, walking, cycling, fishing, photography, bird-watching and other sports. The trail around the little lake is a 3.7km loop.